My Notes During Projek Amanat Negara 2012

Projek Amanat Negara is an annual event organised by UKEC which brings together prominent figures in the Malaysian political, social, and entrepreneurial arena to London for an ‘intellectual discourse’. I have spent a bit too long exchanging opinions across Facebook walls today so I am only putting up a copy of the scribbling I did during the event for now. Pen and notebook in one hand, mobile phone in the other live tweeting updates, so there are some bits I missed out writing. Will put up a selected list of my tweets in a separate post.

The event was on the weekend right after my exams. By Monday I was really exhausted. Syawal Hafriz is the Chairman of UKEC, Dato’ Sri Zakaria Sulong; Malaysian High Commissioner, Tan Sri Rafidah Aziz; Chairman of AirAsia X.

I started writing the points in linear format, but after seeing Shanon Shah (who sat next to me) noting the details in mind maps, I took cue.

The top page was the end of  my note-taking for Tan Sri Rafidah Aziz’s speech. The following is the Human Rights session, moderated by Melissa Kong. The speakers for the session was Dato’ Yunus Raiss; a former Magistrate at West London Court, Pang Khee Teik; a founding member of Sexuality Merdeka, and Datin Paduka Marina Mahathir; former chairperson of the Malaysian AIDS Foundation and an active women’s rights activist. Dato’ Yunus Raiss gave hand outs listing expression and ideas for possible questions (will share that in another post). I thought he was the only one relevant to the topic of human rights. The other two on the panel went passionate with gay rights and feminism blah blah blah.

Next was Religion : Islam in Malaysia which I personally thought was the best session ever. On the panel, Karim Raslan; a lawyer, Zainah Anwar; founding member of Sisters in Islam, Dr. Haji Dzulkefly Ahmad; PAS strongman,  Dr. Carool Kersten; historian of religion and Islamicist. Dr. Zulkefly and Zainah Anwar had completely opposite and highly contrasting views, yet throughout the duration of discussion everybody expressed their opinions in a very civil manner and debated using relevant points.

The last session was the debate between Khairy Jamaluddin and Rafizi Ramli “Public Policy : Vision 2020: Is Malaysia Moving Towards the Right Direction?” At this point I stopped writing altogether and was tweeting points most of the time. It was a brilliant debate with points well-argued without much personal attacks and some of my friends are still debating about the debate at the moment.

Leave a Reply

