The Cracked-Egg Tiramisu

I had guests for tea today and treated them to my home-made Tiramisu.

The making of the Tiramisu was not planned and the guests coming over coincided with the Italian dessert ready to serve. What happened was yesterday, I dropped my groceries and broke my eggs on my way home from Sainsbury’s. While trying to scavenge what was left within the cracked eggs, I somehow managed to separate the yolks from the white. Only one egg I managed to recover about 80% of the white and I used that to make chocolate meringue cookies. I couldn’t resist eating them right away after I took them out of the oven.

The original recipe called for five egg yolks. I only had three, but proceeded anyway. Turns out I had barely enough to cover 3/4 of the top layer of coffee-soaked sponge fingers so I improvised by using whipped double cream to imitate a full coverage.

The result was not bad at all. My guests and I managed to finish half the tray and the remaining is sitting in the fridge.

Maybe not for long. 😉

The Cracked-Egg Tiramisu

Ingredients:

3 egg yolks

250g Mascarpone cheese (I used Sainsbury’s)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

I medium sized double cream, whipped (keep it in the refrigerator until needed. I used Elmlea. Sainsbury’s work just as fine, but Elmlea lasts longer)

2 packets sponge fingers (I used Fingerellas, am going to try using Saviovardi biscuits next time)

3/4 cup of really strong coffee (I put three or four tablespoons of instant coffee into 3/4 cup of hot water)

Put half a pot of hot water to boil while you whisk the egg yolks with sugar in a pyrex or a heatproof bowl. When the water has boil, place the bowl containing the egg yolks and sugar mixture over it and continue whisking it for a good ten minutes. Don’t stop or your mixture will get clumpy. Then your Tiramisu won’t have a smooth texture.

Take it off the heat and mix in the Mascarpone. Let it cool. While waiting, place your sponge fingers into a shallow dish or tray and pour coffee all over it.

When the Mascarpone, egg and sugar concoction has cooled, FOLD in the whipped double cream. The little air bubbles in the whipped double cream gives the Tiramisu a little bit of body. Otherwise it will turn out like a custard mixture.

Layer the bottom of a deep tray/container/trifle bowl with the coffee-soaked sponge fingers and pour half the Mascarpone-egg-sugar-cream mixture on top of it and repeat, finishing with the Mascarpone-egg-sugar-cream mixture. Cover with foil or wrapping film and refrigerate overnight, or at least six hours until firm.

Good luck if you’re trying, and enjoy! 😉

Leave a Reply

