Not-so Bright-on

The weather was gloomy, gloomy, gloomy when I brought mummy and her friend to Brighton. From the train station we took the bus straight to the pier where we tourists had ample opportunities to take photographs.

Despite being a weekday, the place was brimming with people. I could imagine the Londoners taking a sabbatical and running away from the business of the city to the laid-back atmosphere of being on the seaside.

We had lunch at a sea front restaurant (which I had forgotten the name. If you stand at the entrance of the pier facing the pier, it will be on your right. Take the second set of stairs onto the beach front). Mummy ordered Salmon and Dill fish cake, her friend and myself had fish and chips. I ordered a set lunch, so mine came with desert – Apple and Ginger sponge with soft serve ice-cream. A happy treat for my then, still sore throat.

After our meal we took a walk down the seafront. I would have loved, loved to study in Brighton had the university there offered Chemical Engineering. I could imagine myself lazing by the seaside after a long day of lectures or skipping lectures altogether, grab a friend and an ice-cream and enjoy a Bright-on day outside.

Leave a Reply

