Optometry

Optometrists have always had a dear place in my heart. They are the people who knows best on giving prescription for me see the world clearly. I started wearing spectacles at the age of nine or ten-ish and started with a degree of -3.00 there and about. Nobody particularly noticed my short-sightedness until one day my mother noticed I didn’t notice her waving furiously at me in a book shop. And that I couldn’t read the restaurant menu on the bright boards near the ceiling behind the counter.

I had my eye check-up at Boots today and was attended by a really nice lady who exclaimed “Beautiful!” each time I accomplished her little instructions. The check-up began with the standard look-at-the-balloon test where you are to focus at a picture of a hot air balloon one eye at a time, while it appears in an out of focus. Next was the test to check the pressure behind the eye.

This is new to me. Basically, what the device does is to shoot beams of laser into your eye to check the pressure behind the cornea (I think) to see if you have glaucoma or any other abnormalities. It felt like something shooting random shots of air into your eye. Not painful at all, but slightly ticklish. There was also another test where you had to focus on a red dot on a screen, and spots of white lights would be randomly emitted around the red dot and you have to say how many white light spots you can see.

Finally, it came to sight test. Hands down I would fail it without my contact lenses or my spectacles on. Even if I’m standing three metres away from it, everything would be a blur. I noticed the optometrist asked plenty of questions regarding my health background. Family history of diabetes – yes, high-blood pressure – yes, glaucoma – yes (correct me if I’m wrong mummy, I know you’re reading this. HAHA). All my previous optometrists back in Malaysia have never asked all these, unless they have already asked my mother beforehand. The lovely young girl (a colleague of the “Beautiful!” lady) also asked about my general health and if I was on medications. I told her I had no ailment whatsoever and am taking echinacea tablets to keep off the cold.

Results out. Verdict – increase in short-sightedness and increase in astigmatism. Applause, applause. Do note that for my condition, no amount of carrots or vitamin A supplement is going to help. The only long term solution for this is a LASIK surgery, but I’ll hold that off for a bit longer. I have yet the guts to stay awake on the surgery table with my eyes wide open for hours on end.

As long as my glasses don’t break and my contact lens supply has not run out, I’ll stick to those.


3 thoughts on “Optometry

  1. I was reading through and lasik surgery isn’t bad at all! i highly recommend it. my eyesight was really bad too, and i’ve been wearing contacts since i was in primary school. Life has NEVER been easier since i went for the surgery. and no lah, haha, you don’t have to keep your eyes open for hours! the procedure takes less than 10mins and you will be under anaesthesia.
    i’d tell you to go for it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

