Penmanship

I love to write and I take pride in my handwritings. Recently I have been sending postcards to several of my friends and this is what one of them commented, “…because the hand writings..wow ..I would say that it can be one of the top encrypted languages which can easily rival any SSL protocol.” I really don’t know what you meant by that but thanks, I take it as a compliment anyway *grins*. A sample of my handwriting can be seen below.

Back in school, my teachers would always praise my work and say, “You have such a neat handwriting, you must be a very neat girl.” This would cause many of my girlfriends to break into fits of laughter because I am light years away from being neat. Just look at my hair, and you’ll get what I mean.

FYI: I never comb it, because I can’t, not without losing a significant amount of hair (not even the hairdressers can do it, except my mum I guess. She’s simply exceptional).

The story of my neat penmanship goes back to when I was a little kid. My mother would drill me on the writing exercises.  I remember having  a book with all the alphabets printed in dotted lines for you to trace and for quite some time, that was what I did everyday.  I was naturally left handed, but mummy insisted that I write with my right hand.

Asians are quite particular with which hands you use for eating and which hands you use for washing your *ahem-ahem*. Malays and Indians I know would normally use their right hands to eat and this is to show respect for the food you’re about to consume.

I guess it goes to show respect for knowledge to not use the hand you use to clean your behind to write down your lessons, which makes sense for me as true Muslims revere the value of knowledge and it (revering the value of knowledge)is written down in the Quran as well.

By saying this, I am not condemning the other half of the world who are left-handed.  I am simply pointing out the root of the culture of preferring the use of the right over the left hand. On both hands, there are people who are ambidextrous – people who are just as skilled with their right hands as with their left hands. Cheers!

Till the next post, au revoir!

Leave a Reply

