Money Matters #2

Dear readers, sorry for taking some time to update. Been caught up with my lectures lately, and Physical Chemistry lectures are becoming a pain in the you-know-where. Moving on…

On my previous post, I listed down (roughly) all my expenses. You would notice that expenses for transport outnumbered the costs of some of my books. Actually, it is not that costly. If you look at it carefully, I bought a five week ticket. This would average out to about £10.56, which is almost  £6.00 savings compared to buying a one week ticket. Return train tickets from London are rather expensive, but I’m planning to get a student Railpass which entitles you to 1/3 discount off off-peak journeys.

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I have not been spending too much on food. The items listed under kitchen are one-time buys. I consider them as an investment so maintain the low cost of everyday meals as it is considerably cheaper to prepare your own food.

The shoe I left out cost  £39.90 but since I bought it from Clarks, I also consider it another investment as they would definitely outlast most shoes bought from discount stores. I bought an All-in-One HP Deskjet from one of my housemate who just moved out last week for  £16.48 which proved useful as I can now scan and hand in my assignment online from home. That’s another investment xD

Remember that sometimes you just have to splurge out on certain things (such as a good pair of shoes) to save your pennies in the long run.

Till the next post, au revoir!

Leave a Reply

