The Case of the “Sweet Cooking Alcohol”

The recipe for a salmon teriyaki I wanted to try involved soy sauce, rice mirin and a little bit of sugar. So off to the supermarket I went to purchase my ingredients. When I looked at the content listing on the label of the rice mirin, it only indicated ,

“Water, rice (35%), cultured rice, salt.”

When I  got home and opened the bottle, I thought it smelled like Japanese wine. The mirin spilt a little so I wiped it with my finger and pop it into my mouth. Mmm…sweet.  After I was done marinating the salmon and what not, I browsed the internet again to double check the recipe. What a shock I got when on Wikipedia it said,

“In the Edo period, mirin was drunk as a sweet sake.”

Anyway, I’m not going to throw away that little bottle of sweet sake. No, I’m not going to get drunk on that. As far as this chemical-engineer-to-be is concern, alcohol has a very low boiling point and will dissipate off during cooking. This girl here is not going to get drunk eating teriyaki, thank you very much.

Another thing is that, if there are people out there who goes “Whoa! Muslims are not supposed to consume alcohol!!!” I would like those people to shut up, because alcohol is everywhere. In your shampoo, in your toner, in your moisturiser, surface disinfectants and millions of products we use in everyday life. Even if you buy a ready made teriyaki sauce, it will contain wine. Check the label.

If those people want an alcohol-free little world of their own, have an initiative to set up a company which produces all those things, sans alcohol. I will gladly work for you – in three years time.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “The Case of the “Sweet Cooking Alcohol”

  1. WHAT YOU SAY IS TRUE!

    Alcohol evaporates when you put it on a hot surface. So what’s left will be the sugar and other stuff in that rice mirin of yours. Some people say perfume tak boleh pakai cos ada alcohol – what on earth??

Leave a Reply

